Clearinghouse Rule 99-016

CERTIFICATE

STATE OF WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

TO ALL WHOM THESE PRESENTS SHALL COME, GREETINGS:

I, Patrick D. Braatz, Director, Bureau of Health Professions in the Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing and custodian of the official records of the Dentistry Examining Board, do hereby certify that the annexed rules were duly approved and adopted by the Dentistry Examining Board on the 1st day of September, 1999.

I further certify that said copy has been compared by me with the original on file in this office and that the same is a true copy thereof, and of the whole of such original.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed the official seal of the board at 1400 East Washington Avenue, Madison, Wisconsin this 1st day of September, 1999.

Patrick D. Braatz, Director, Bureau of Health Professions, Department of Regulation and Licensing

99-016

STATE OF WISCONSIN DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD

			<u> </u>
IN THE MATTER OF RULE-MAKING PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOARD	:	ORDER OF THE DENTISTRY EXAMINING BOA ADOPTING RULES (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 99-0	

ORDER

An order of the Dentistry Examining Board to *create* Chapter DE 7, relating to the education required of licensed dental hygienists to receive a certificate to administer local anesthesia to patients.

Analysis prepared by the Department of Regulation and Licensing.

ANALYSIS

Statutes authorizing promulgation: ss. 15.08 (5) (b) and 227.11 (2), Stats., and 447.02 (2) (e), Stats., as created by 1997 Wisconsin Act 96.

Statutes interpreted: ss. 447.04 (2) (c) 1. and 447.06 (2) (e) 2., Stats.

This proposed rule-making order of the Dentistry Examining Board promulgates rules mandated under 1997 Wisconsin Act 96, regarding the education required of dental hygienists to receive a certificate to administer local anesthesia to patients. Under the Act, the scope of practice of a qualified dental hygienist is expanded to permit the administration of local anesthesia pursuant to a treatment plan approved by a dentist who is present in the dental facility when local anesthesia is administered and is available to the patient throughout the completion of the appointment. These rules establish the education required of a dental hygienist to administer local anesthesia, as well as the application procedures for receiving a certificate from the board to perform that function. The rules were developed in conjunction with the Wisconsin Dental Association and the Wisconsin Dental Hygienists' Association.

The rules require that a dental hygienist must complete 21 hours of instruction in local anesthesia provided by an accredited dental or dental hygiene school. The course must be comprised of at least 10 hours in didactic instruction in relevant subject areas, and at least 11 hours in the clinical administration of local anesthesia.

TEXT OF RULE

SECTION 1. Chapter DE 7 is created to read:

CHAPTER DE 7

CERTIFICATION OF DENTAL HYGIENISTS TO ADMINISTER LOCAL ANESTHESIA

DE 7.01 Authority. The rules in this chapter are adopted pursuant to ss. 15.08 (5) (b), 227.11 (2) and 447.02 (2) (e), Stats.

DE 7.02 Definitions. As used in this chapter "accredited" has the meaning under s. 447.01 (1), Stats.

DE 7.03 Qualifications for certification of licensed dental hygienists to administer local anesthesia. An applicant for certification to administer local anesthesia shall be granted a certificate by the board if the applicant complies with all of the following:

(1) Has a current license to practice as a dental hygienist in this state.

(2) Provides evidence of current qualification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation from either the American heart association or American red cross.

(3) Has completed the educational requirements of s. DE 7.05.

(4) Has submitted the information required in the application under s. DE 7.04.

DE 7.04 Application procedure. An applicant for a certificate to administer local anesthesia shall file a completed application on a form provided by the board. The application shall include all of the following:

applicant.

(1) The dental hygienist license number in this state and the signature of the

(2) Evidence of current qualification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation from either the American heart association or the American red cross.

(3) Evidence of successful completion of a didactic and clinical program sponsored by an accredited dental or dental hygiene program, resulting in the dental hygienist becoming competent to administer local anesthesia under the delegation and supervision of a dentist, the curriculum of which meets or exceeds the basic course requirements set forth in s. DE 7.05. For those dental hygienists who are employed and taking a local anesthesia program as continuing education outside of the initial accredited dental hygiene program, the administration of local anesthesia on a non-classmate may be performed at the place where the dental hygienist is employed. In those instances the application:

(a) Shall contain a statement from the employing dentist that he or she supervised and verifies the successful completion of an inferior alveolar injection on a patient who was informed of the situation and granted his or her consent to the dentist, and that the dentist assumed liability for the injection performed on the patient.

(b) Shall indicate that the inferior alveolar injection was completed within 6 weeks from the time that the licensed dental hygienist completed the coursework; or, if licensed by endorsement of a dental hygienist license from another state, within 6 weeks of becoming licensed as a dental hygienist in this state.

Note: Applications are available upon request to the board office at 1400 East Washington Avenue, P.O. Box 8935, Madison, Wisconsin 53708.

DE 7.05 Educational requirements. The following educational requirements are necessary for the board to approve and grant certification to a licensed dental hygienist in the administration of local anesthesia:

(1) The course in the administration of local anesthesia shall be provided by an accredited dental or dental hygiene school.

(2) To participate in a course in the administration of local anesthesia, a person shall do all of the following:

(a) Show evidence of current qualification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation from either the American heart association or the American red cross.

(b) Provide proof of possessing a license to practice as a dental hygienist in this state, or having graduated from an accredited dental hygiene program, or of being enrolled in an accredited dental hygiene program.

(3) The local anesthesia course shall have the following components and provide a minimum of 21 hours of instruction:

(a) Didactic instruction. Minimum of 10 hours, including but not limited to the following topics:

1. Neurophysiology and pain perception.

2. Basic pharmacology and drug interactions.

3. Chemistry, pharmacology and clinical properties of local anesthesia, vasoconstrictors, and topical anesthesia.

4. Anatomical considerations for the administration of anesthesia.

5. Patient assessment for the administration of anesthesia.

6. Selection and preparation of armamentarium.

7. Recognition, management and emergency response to local

complications.

complications.

8. Recognition, management and emergency response to systemic

9. Ethical and legal considerations.

10. Techniques for regional anesthesia.

(b) Experience in the clinical administration of local anesthesia. Minimum of 11 hours in the following techniques:

1. Maxillary.

a. Posterior superior alveolar.

b. Middle superior alveolar.

c. Anterior superior alveolar.

d. Greater/lesser palatine.

e. Nasopalatine.

f. Supraperiosteal (infiltration) injection.

2. Mandibular.

a. Inferior alveolar/lingual.

b. Mental/incisive nerve block.

c. Buccal nerve.

d. Periodontal ligament injection.

e. Intraseptal injection.

Page 4

(c) Students performing injections as part of the clinical coursework shall successfully perform all local anesthesia injections on their classmates as well as perform at least one successful inferior alveolar injection on a non-classmate patient. For those licensed dental hygienists who are completing this course in the continuing education environment, the injection on a non-classmate patient may be performed in the office where the dental hygienist is employed, as long as the employer-dentist agrees to supervise and submit verification of the successful completion of the injection.

(d) A dentist licensed under ch. 447, Stats., shall be present in the facility and available to both the patients and to the students of the class.

DE 7.06 Dentist responsibility for the administration of local anesthetic. The dentist is ultimately responsible for all decisions regarding the administration of local anesthetic, particularly in determining the pharmacological and physiological considerations of each individual treatment plan.

(END OF TEXT OF RULE)

The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin administrative pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats.

Dated

Agency

[°]CKairperson Dentistry Examining Board

g:\rules\den3 9/1/99 State of Wisconsin



DEPARTMENT OF REGULATION AND LICENSING

CORRESPONDENCE/MEMORANDUM

DATE: September 1, 1999

- TO: Gary Poulson Assistant Revisor of Statutes
- **FROM:** Pamela A. Haack, Paralegal Department of Regulation and Licensing Office of Administrative Rules



SUBJECT: Final Order Adopting Rules

Agency: Dentistry Examining Board Clearinghouse Rule 99-016

Attached is a copy and a certified copy of a final order adopting rules.

Please stamp or sign a copy of this letter to acknowledge receipt.

Thank you.